Saragur will be eighth Taluk for Mysuru district

Mysuru: The commercial hub of Saragur has been notified as a new taluk in Mysuru district. With this, Mysuru will have eight Taluks (the others being Mysuru, K.R. Nagar, Periyapatna, Hunsur, Nanjangud, T. Narsipur, and H.D. Kote). The existing Nadakacheri at Saragur is being made up and will start functioning as the Taluk Office from Jan.27.

An announcement on this will be made at the Republic Day function tomorrow at H.D. Kote, said Deputy Commissioner D. Randeep. He said additional posts have been created for the new taluk but no postings have been made yet.

The State Government had announced the constitution of new taluks in the 2017-18 Budget, and administrative approval was given last September. It has now come into effect with the gazette notification issued on Monday.

Saragur — hived out of H.D. Kote taluk — has 101 villages under its ambit. Its elevation to a taluk is expected to help shore up development in the region. Saragur taluk will share a boundary with H.D. Kote in the west and north,  Nanjangud in the east, and Gundlupet of Chamarajanagar district in the south.

The undivided H.D. Kote was spread over 1,618 sq km. It was reckoned to be too big and lacked connectivity or easy access to Government offices located in the taluk headquarters. Farmers in remote locations had to travel as much as 100 km a day to reach the administrative offices of the local  Tahsildar and Revenue officials. Now, H.D. Kote taluk will have 164 villages in its ambit.

The post Saragur will be eighth Taluk for Mysuru district appeared first on Star of Mysore.


Note from Kannada.Club : This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from