RS elections: Congress, BJP nominees to file papers tomorrow

The Congress and the BJP candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls are likely to file their nominations on March 12, the last day for filing nomination papers.

The two national parties are yet to announce their candidates for the polls scheduled for March 23. The elections will be held for four seats. The ruling Congress can win three seats, while the BJP can win one. MLAs are the voters in the elections. The JD(S), which does not have the required numbers to win, was, however, the first to enter the fray, with its candidate B M Farookh filing his nominations on Friday. The party is hoping that the Congress will support it.

But Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is said to be against supporting the JD(S). He is learnt to have told the Congress high command that the party can easily win three seats. The party has a long list of aspirants, including Shivraj Patil, Meira Kumar, Rahman Khan, H Hanumantharayappa (deceased IAS officer D K Ravis father-in-law), R Roshan Baig and Chenna Reddy. The BJP may field either Rajeev Chandrasekhar or Vijay Sankeshwar.

While the scrutiny of the nominations is on March 13, the last date for their withdrawal is March 15.


Note from Kannada.Club : This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from