Reclassification of Railway Stations over Mysuru Division of SWR

Mysuru: Ministry of Railways has decided to change the criteria of classification of Railway Stations. Until now this was based solely on ticket sales. It has now been modified to include both annual earnings as well as passengers handled.

In Mysuru Division of South Western Railway (SWR) the classification will move from A1,A,B,D etc. and will be classified as Non Suburban groups — NSG-1,2,3,4,5 and Halt Stations will be considered as Halt Group (HG) HG-1,2,3 etc.

Mysuru Railway Station falls in the NSG-2 Category with average annual earnings of more than Rs.107.46 crore plus and for handling more than 10.71 million passengers annually. Apart from this, five Railway Stations over Mysuru Division, which are located in popular pilgrimage centre and tourist destination like Hassan, Harihar, Birur, Sagarajambagaru and Subramanya Road are upgraded and reclassified to NSG-4. Based on the classification, 26 Railway Stations out of 124 Railway Stations over Mysuru Division of SWR are getting upgraded including Mysuru where enhanced passenger amenities will be provided.

The enhanced amenities include lifts, escalators, high-level platforms, foot over bridges, additional booking facilities, train indication board, waiting hall, seating arrangements, PF shelter, toilets, etc., according to a press release from Dr. S.G. Yathish, PRO and Sr. Divisional Commercial Manager.

The post Reclassification of Railway Stations over Mysuru Division of SWR appeared first on Star of Mysore.


Note from Kannada.Club : This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from