More than 78,000 new voters in Mysuru District

Mysuru: Deputy Commissioner (DC) D. Randeep has said that the final revised voter list will be published on Feb.28 and the list will be issued to political parties by Mar. 2.

Presiding over a meeting with political leaders at his office here on Monday, Randeep said that the district had received 78,403 applications from eligible voters seeking inclusion of their names in the electoral list.

As per the draft list, the district has 23,69,987 voters and the poll authorities had received 16,664 applications seeking deletion of names, 9,976 applications seeking corrections in voters list and 3,326 applications seeking transfer of poll booths – citing change in address.

Pointing out that there were 2,687 polling booths in the district, he said that following the demand for more booths, 12 new booths have been added taking the number to 2,699.

Giving a breakup of the number of voters, the DC said as per the revised list, K.R. Constituency will have 2,30,427 voters, Chamaraja Constituency 2,20,440 voters, Narasimharaja 2,43,323 voters and Chamundeshwari constituency 2,77,896 voters.

Stating that Periyapatna Assembly segment has the least number of voters (1,74,462) and Chamundeshwari the highest numbers of voters (2,77,896) in the district, the DC said that the authorities have written a letter to the Election Commission seeking shifting of 43 polling booths across the district, which were found lacking in infrastructure.

Asking all the political parties to enlist their booth-level assistants and send the same to the respective Tahsildars, the DC said that all the taluk administrations in the district have been asked to hold such meetings and sensitise the political parties on the polling process.

Continuing, the DC said that all the booths will be supplied Ballot Units, Control Unit and VVPAT and 3,560 Ballot Units and 3,000 Control Units are expected to arrive in the district from Tamil Nadu ahead of the elections. These Units will be examined in the presence of political parties, he said and added that the date will be announced soon.

Randeep further said that it was mandatory for all candidates to furnish details of their election expenses, for which the district administration is working out a format.

Political parties can file their objections regarding any issues in the format, he added.

DC office election branch Superintendent Ramprasad,   leaders of political parties — M. Satish, S.S. Mahesh, R.S. Rajashekharmurthy and others were present.

The post More than 78,000 new voters in Mysuru District appeared first on Star of Mysore.


Note from Kannada.Club : This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from