Mayors: Women power for IT city after 22 years

Bengaluru: In a celebration of women power, Benglauru, after 22 years, will have both mayor and deputy mayor posts occupied by women. After the elections on Friday, Jayanagar ward corporator Gangambike became the 52nd Mayor, while Kaveripura corporator Ramila Umashankar her deputy.  The BBMP Council witnessed high drama minutes before the Mayoral elections as two of the eight independents switched over to the BJP. The poll was marred when members from both the Congress-JD(S) coalition and BJP jostled and pushed each other and physically pulled  members to their side. 

Leader of the opposition Padmanabha Reddy, demanded the cancellation of voting rights to former union minister Jairam Ramesh, MLC V.S. Ugrappa, Raghu Achar and C.R. Ramesh, but it was rejected by the chair.   All the BJP corporators and leaders, including union minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda, MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar and Suresh Kumar, boycotted the elections like they did in 2017 and walked out.


Note from Kannada.Club :

This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from .