Karnataka Election 2018: 15 mantris bite the dust

Bengaluru: Fifteen ministers lost their seats in an anti-incumbency wave that swept the Siddaramaiah government out of power in the assembly elections. 

They are: Public Works Minister Dr H.C. Mahadevappa, Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister T.B. Jayachandra, Kannada and Culture Minister Umashree, Medical Education Minister Dr Sharan Prakash Patil, Mines and Geology Minister Vinay Kulkarni, Higher Education Minister Basavaraja Rayaraddi, Social Welfare Minister H Anjaneya, Horticulture Minister S S Mallikarjun, Sports and Youth Services Minister Pramod Madhwaraj, Sugar Minister Gita Mahadevaprasad, Forest Minister B Ramanath Rai, Revenue Minister Kagodu Thimmappa, Transport Minister H M Revanna, Muzarai Minister Rudrappa Lamani and Animal Husbandry Minister A. Manju.

While Chief Minister  Siddaramaiah won from Badami Assembly constituency by a wafer-thin margin, he lost to G T Deve Gowda of the Janata Dal (Secular) in Chamundeshwari constituency by a big margin.

The face saver for the ruling Congress party was the victory of Home Minister R Ramalinga Reddy, Energy Minister D K Shivakumar, Major Industries Minister R V Deshpande, Municipal Administration Minister Eshwar Khandre, Urban Development Minister R Roshan Baig, Food and Civil Supplies Minister U T Khader, Primary and Secondary Education Minister Tanvir Sait, Water Resources Minister M B Patil, Information Technology and Biotechnology Minister Priyank Kharge, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister H K Patil, Housing Minister A Krishnappa, Agriculture Minister Krishna Byregowda, Small Scale Industries Minister Ramesh Jarkoholi and Health and Family Welfare Minister K R Ramesh Kumar.


Note from Kannada.Club :

This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from http://www.deccanchronicle.com/nation/current-affairs/160518/karnataka-election-2018-15-mantris-bite-the-dust.html .