Has Congress boycotted Dasara?

Mysuru: Has the Congress decided to boycott the Mysuru Dasara events as part of its ‘design’ to embarass its coalition partner, JD(S)? Deputy Chief Minister Dr G Parameshwar and other ministers, who were invited for the prestigious event, stayed away from the inauguration at Chamundi hills. 

Minister Puttarangshetty who was made Dasara executive committee vice president and was invited as the chief guest, Chamarajnagar MP Mr R Druvanarayan, local Congress MLAs Dr Yatindra Sidda ramaiah, Tanveer Sait and Anil Chikkamadu too did not participate in the inaugural event. Dr Parameshwar was supposed to inaugurate the Dasara sports event too but stayed away. Minister D.K. Shivakumar was to inaugurate the glass house at Nishad Bagh where the flower show is being held but did not participate either. Nor did Speaker of the Assembly R Ramesh Kumar.

However Minister for Kannada and Culture, Dr Jayamala participated in both the Dasara inaugural event and the inaugural event of the cultural programmes. Also food and civil supplies minister Mr Zameer Ahmed Khan inaugurated the food mela.

Mr R Murthy, City Congress President, said, "local Congress leaders are being neglected, hence our leaders did not participate in the Dasara events."  
Meanwhile district minister Mr G.T. Devegowda in his speech at the inaugural event said that he had  invited all elected representatives.


Note from Kannada.Club :

This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from http://www.deccanchronicle.com/nation/politics/111018/has-congress-boycotted-dasara.html .