Dr. Rajkumar Award for Lakshmi, Puttanna Kanagal Award for S. Narayan

Dr. Vishnuvardhan for G.S. Lakshmipathy

Bengaluru,: The Committee for selection of the three top awards given by the State Government to Kannada film personalities has submitted its selection list to the Government yesterday.

The Selection Committee, headed by veteran actor Srinivasa Murthy, has recommended the name of senior actress Lakshmi for the Dr Rajkumar Award for the year 2017.

Lakshmi is a popular actress not only in Kannada but also in Malayalam, Tamil and Telugu. She has also acted in Hindi and Bengali films. She has won multiple best actor awards including a National Award.

S. Narayan has been selected for the award in the name of director Puttanna Kanagal given to directors. A veteran of over 50 films, Narayan is also an accomplished film writer, lyricist and composer. He began his directorial career in 1992.

The lifetime achievement award in the name of Dr. Vishnuvardhan has been awarded to film producer G.S. Lakshmipathy. He has produced films like Kaadu, Chitegu Chinte, Uyalle, Devara Makkalu and Ondanondu Kaaladalli which launched Shankar Nag.

Sundarkrishna Urs was also launched in a Lakshmipathy film. His films have won multiple national and state film awards.

The three awards carry a cash prize of Rs.2 lakh each and a gold medal of 50 grams each. These awards were earlier announced as part of the annual State Film Awards but have been separately selected and announced for the last two years.

The post Dr. Rajkumar Award for Lakshmi, Puttanna Kanagal Award for S. Narayan appeared first on Star of Mysore.


Note from Kannada.Club : This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from https://starofmysore.com/dr-rajkumar-award-for-lakshmi-puttanna-kanagal-award-for-s-narayan/