BJP’s Vokkaliga leader hoping to score in Mandya parliamentary constituency

Bengaluru: By noon on Tuesday, results of elections held in three Lok Sabha constituencies and two Assembly segments will be declared, adding to Diwali celebrations for victorious candidates, but senior BJP leader R Ashok says his party will pull off a surprise victory in Mandya parliamentary constituency. 

On Monday, Mr Ashok even congratulated his party candidate Dr Siddaramaiah in advance saying, “he will win by a good margin like former chief minister S.M. Krishna as people of Mandya have showered him with lot of affection.”

He countered former chief minister Siddaramaiah’s analysis about a 4-1 victory for the coalition, asking how the leader could speak on these lines when his analysis during the recent Assembly polls were wrong and he lost in Chamundeswari Assembly constituency.  

Although other BJP leaders raised questions about the longevity of the government during poll-eve campaign, the coalition is confident of the stability of the government, post announcement of bypoll results.

Leaders of the coalition government claimed the results on Tuesday would be 4-1 in their favour, but they would have no choice than gird up to endure pressure from Cabinet hopefuls, including M.B. Patil and K.H. Patil, as the outcome of these bypolls would encourage ministerial aspirants in Congress and JD (S) to renew lobbying for berths in the cabinet.  

Leaders of both parties have taken a decision to induct new faces after the bypolls to preempt unsuccessful aspirants embarrassing the coalition by quitting their seats and defecting to the BJP. 

They ensured that all aspirants were active during the campaign phase in these five constituencies and did not make public their dissent about the delay in expansion of the ministry. This was evident when JD (S) leaders, could do little as primary and secondary education minister and BSP legislator N Mahesh quit the ministry, and kept away from the coalition's campaign team which addressed joint rallies in all constituencies.


Note from Kannada.Club :

This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from .