BJP sweeps out Congress from Karnataka, set to form next government

Bengaluru: The Bharatiya Janata Party has got a clear mandate from voters in Karnataka and is set to form the next government in the state.

Karnataka is the only southern state the BJP has ruled before it ceded power to the Congress last term.

Leads put out by the Election Commission of India on the Karnataka Assembly results show BJP way ahead of the Congress with 111 seats to the incumbent party's 65, while the JD(S) led in 38 seats.

Counting is on in 222 constituencies of the 224-seat Assembly. Voting was not held in two seats. A party requires 112 seats to get a clean majority to form government.

The results have rubbished all exit polls which predicted a tight race between the two main rivals — BJP and Congress — in the Karnataka Assembly elections with the JD(S) emerging as a likely kingmaker.

BJP is clearly racing towards forming the state's next government.


Note from Kannada.Club :

This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from .