BJP retains Kodagu seats

Mysuru: The BJP succeeded in retaining its two seats in its stronghold, Kodagu.

Former Speaker Mr K.G. Bopaiah secured 77,944 votes and defeated Congress candidate Arun Machaiah in Virajpet constituency securing a lead of 13,353 votes. 

He has won for a fourth time and had earlier won in 2004, 2008 and 2013-once in Madikeri and twice in Virajpet. Mr Appachchu Ranjan (right, bottom) secured 70,631 votes and defeated his JD(S) candidate Jeevijaya by  a margin of 16,051 votes in Madikeri constituency. He has won the seat for a fifth time.  He had earlier won in 1994, 1999, 2008 and 2013, thrice in Somwarpet constituency (before delimitation) and once in Madikeri. 


Note from Kannada.Club :

This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from .