8th RNM Memorial Road Race-2018: Veena, Laxman bag top honours

Mysuru: Veena of Vidya Darshini, Kuruburu and H.D. Laxman of Maharaja’s College won the 16-40 years women’s and men’s road race (2km) respectively in the 8th RNM Memorial Road Race 2018, “Run for Health” conducted by the Mysore District Masters Athletic Association on May 1. The race, which started off near the DC office on Tuesday morning, ended at the University Oval grounds.

Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar inaugurated the road race by flagging off the events in different sections. He interacted with the children and participants freely and encouraged everyone to take up to sports and practice running for better health.  The prizes were given away in different sections by N. Prakash, former Mayor and Ekalavya Award winner and Dr. P.Krishniah, In-charge Director, Department of Physical Education, UoM.

On the occasion, Dr. Padmanabha, a veteran athlete who is a Scientist as a profession and recently won the “Scientist of the Year Award”  in the National Environmental Science Academy, was felicitated.

Yogendra, Superintendent of Central Tax & Customs was given the Best Master Athlete of the Year 2018 award.

C.B. Cheluve Gowda, International Master athlete, was also felicitated for his performances in the National and State meets. The retired master athletes B.K.Somashaker (SWR Workshop) and A.C. Subbiah (SBI) were honoured on this occasion.

All the Master athletes, who won medals in the 2018 National Masters athletic meet, were also honoured at the event.

The road race function was presided by Sumana Narasimha Murthy, President, MDMAA and P.G. Sathyanarayana, Hon. Secretary, MDMAA.


16 to 40 years Men: (2km) 1. H.D. Laxman (Maharaja’s College), 2. Bella Nayak (Evening Athletic Club), 3. T. Sunil (Vivekananda College), 4. H.D. Rama (Maharaja’s College), 5. Ravi Tej (Mys), 6. Harsha (Kuruburu).

40 Plus (Men) (1km): 1. Cheluve Gowda (Maharaja’s College), 2. Harish (JK Tyres), 3. Nagaiah (Mys), 4. V.N. Lokesh (Mys), 5. V.N. Lakshmikanth Yadav (Fire Brigade, Bangalore).

16-40 years Women (2km): 1. M. Veena (Vidya Darshini, Kuruburu), 2. S. Vinutha (Vidya Darshini, Kuruburu), 3. M. Tejaswini, 4. M. Kruthika, 5. K.V. Sangeetha, 6. R. Preethi (all from Vidya Darshini, Kuruburu).

11-16 years boys (2km): 1. S.R. Rahul (Puttaswamy School), 2. Vagesh (Marimallappa HS), 3. Nithin (Kannika Cauvery HS), 4. B. Appu (Vidyadarshini Convent, Kuruburu), 5. N. Hemanth (Kannika Cauvery HS), 6. Akshaya Krishna (Kautilya Vidyalaya).

10-16 years Girls: (2km): 1. B. Chaitra (Vidyadarshini Convent, Kuruburu), 2. L. Monika, 3. S. Keerthana, 4. M. Aishwarya, 5. S. Bhanupriya (all from Vidyadarshini Convent, Kuruburu).

The post 8th RNM Memorial Road Race-2018: Veena, Laxman bag top honours appeared first on Star of Mysore.


Note from Kannada.Club : This story has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed from https://starofmysore.com/8th-rnm-memorial-road-race-2018-veena-laxman-bag-top-honours/